In 1904, a group of 23 prominent businessmen gathered to organize a country club outside the city of Winnipeg. In 1905, construction began on the clubhouse and a golf course, laid out by Tom Bendelow, seven miles west of the city on the banks of the Assiniboine River.
Before the year ended, the club had entertained the Governor-General of Canada, Earl Grey, and one of its members, Douglas Laird, had scored the first hole-in-one. It was an auspicious beginning to what would become an outstanding institution in the sporting and social life of the community.
In the years that followed, world-famous architect Donald Ross was brought in to improve the original 18 hole layout, and the famed Dr. Alister MacKenzie was tasked with adding an additional 9 holes to what is now a 27 hole facility. In more recent times, noted Canadian architects, Stanley Thompson, Norman Woods and Bill Robinson have made additional improvements to the course, making St. Charles what it is today!