Standing as the castle on the Souris riverbank, it was originally built in 1910 by Fred Sowden, son of Squire W.H. Sowden. Designed by a local architect to reflect English architecture, it was once one of the top heritage properties in the country. This wonderful attraction became the Hillcrest Museum in 1967 when a group of local citizens formed a committee and purchased the property. The museum houses countless historical artifacts and an amazing collection of over 5,000 butterflies from around the world. The historic Agricultural building and CPR caboose are just around the corner. Open June, 2 p.m.- 5 p.m. Sunday only; July and August, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. daily. Group tours by appointment. Admission charged. Tel. 204-483-3309 Location: 26 Crescent Avenue East.