The Trappist Order came to St. Norbert in 1892 and built a self-sufficient monastery in 1903-1905, including milking barns, stables, a cheese house, apiary, sawmill and cannery. Fire gutted the vacated church and residential wing in 1983. The beautiful stone shell, set in a park, is one of many sites developed along the Red River.
Open mid-May to September.
Location: 1 km/.6 mi. west of Pembina Highway on rue des ruines du Monastere off rue des Trappistes. (PHS)
- Manitoba History
- Provincial Heritage Site