Lac du Bonnet District Museum
“Working in the present while preserving the past for now and the future”
Located in beautiful Halliday Park on Hwys 502 & 313 near the Winnipeg River Bridge
The Lac du Bonnet District Museum collects and preserves area artifacts from prehistoric to early pioneer times. Growing photo displays focus on the regions 27 plus nationalities that through the years melded to form the village and RM of Lac du Bonnet.
Opening the door one discovers how hydro dam construction, railway, aviation, timber, brick, pulp, fishing, mining, tourism, hunting, trapping, forestry, and farming contributed to the development of this area.
May and June
Saturday & Sunday
July and August
Wednesday to Sunday
Lac du Bonnet District Museum is located in a restored hand crafted stacked log cabin built in 1935 by Hans Erickson for his daughter Linnea Tyndall.
Hans Erickson immigrated to Canada from Norway in 1904 and secured employment blasting rock and cutting wood (winter) at the Pinawa Dam. He was one of the first to secure a homestead grant of 160 acres north of the Pinawa Dam town site. The cabin was donated by Liz and Alvin Tyndall to the Lac du Bonnet and District Historical Society to use as a museum.
The Lac du Bonnet & District Historical Society operates the Lac du Bonnet District which is supported by the RM and Town of Lac du Bonnet.
facebook: Lac du Bonnet District Museum
- Association of Manitoba Museums
- Full wheelchair access
- Guided package/tour
- Manitoba History
- Municipal Heritage Property
- Picnic Area