Hillcrest Museum

Standing as the castle on the Souris riverbank, it was originally built in 1910 by Fred Sowden, son of Squire W.H. Sowden. Designed by a local architect to reflect English architecture, it was once one of the top heritage properties in the country.

This wonderful attraction became the Hillcrest Museum in 1967 when a group of local citizens formed a committee and purchased the property. The museum houses countless historical artifacts and an amazing collection of over 5,000 butterflies from around the world. The historic Agricultural building and CPR caboose are just around the corner.

We are open on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) in the month of June from 1 pm - 4 pm. Beginning June 25 we will be open daily from 11 am - 5 pm. Closed September long weekend until June. Admission is $5 adults, $3 students and $15 for Family. Find us on Facebook

Tel. 204-483-2008
Location: 26 Crescent Avenue East.
  • Birding
  • Boat launch
  • Dumping Station/Sewage Disposal
  • Electric & water sites
  • Electric Sites
  • Entry fees apply
  • Full Service Sites
  • Golf Manitoba
  • Group camping
  • Hiking trails
  • Manitoba History
  • Provincial Heritage Site
  • Public Golf Course
  • Ice Fishing