Hillcrest Museum

"Cette résidence à l’allure d’un château sur la rive de la rivière Souris a été construite en 1910 par Fred Sowden, fils du gentilhomme « Squire » W.H. Sowden. Conçue par un architecte de la région de façon à refléter l’architecture anglaise, cette maison a déjà été l’une des plus importantes propriétés patrimoniales au pays.
Cette magnifique résidence est devenue le Hillcrest Museum, en 1967, lorsqu’un groupe de citoyens de la région a formé un comité pour l’acheter. Le musée présente de nombreux artefacts historiques et une splendide collection de plus de 5000 papillons du monde entier. Situé à proximité du musée agricole et du fourgon de queue du Canadien Pacifique.
Ouvert la fin de semaine (samedi et dimanche) en juin, de 13 h à 16 h. À partir du 25 juin, ouvert tous les jours, de 11 h à 17 h. Fermeture à partir de la longue fin de semaine de septembre, jusqu’en juin. Droits d’entrée : 5 $ pour les adultes, 3 $ pour les étudiants et 15 $ pour les familles. Retrouvez-nous sur Facebook.
Tél. : 204-483-3309
Adresse : 26, av. Crescent Est."
  • Association of Manitoba Museums
  • Bed and Breakfast Manitoba
  • Birding
  • Boat launch
  • Dinosaur/Archaeology
  • Drinking water
  • Dumping Station/Sewage Disposal
  • Electric & water sites
  • Electric Sites
  • Entry fees apply
  • Food Service Available
  • Full Service Sites
  • Golf Manitoba
  • Group camping
  • Hiking trails
  • Ice Fishing
  • Manitoba History
  • Manitoba Hotel Association
  • Marina
  • Online Reservation Service
  • Picnic Area
  • Pool Available (may be outdoor)
  • Provincial Heritage Site
  • Public Golf Course
  • Showers
  • Some pets permitted (contact for more info)

Hillcrest Museum

Standing as the castle on the Souris riverbank, it was originally built in 1910 by Fred Sowden, son of Squire W.H. Sowden. Designed by a local architect to reflect English architecture, it was once one of the top heritage properties in the country.

This wonderful attraction became the Hillcrest Museum in 1967 when a group of local citizens formed a committee and purchased the property. The museum houses countless historical artifacts and an amazing collection of over 5,000 butterflies from around the world. The historic Agricultural building and CPR caboose are just around the corner.

We are open on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) in the month of June from 1 pm - 4 pm. Beginning June 25 we will be open daily from 11 am - 5 pm. Closed September long weekend until June. Admission is $5 adults, $3 students and $15 for Family. Find us on Facebook


Tel. 204-483-3309
Location: 26 Crescent Avenue East.
  • Association of Manitoba Museums
  • Bed and Breakfast Manitoba
  • Birding
  • Boat launch
  • Dinosaur/Archaeology
  • Drinking water
  • Dumping Station/Sewage Disposal
  • Electric & water sites
  • Electric Sites
  • Entry fees apply
  • Food Service Available
  • Full Service Sites
  • Golf Manitoba
  • Group camping
  • Hiking trails
  • Ice Fishing
  • Manitoba History
  • Manitoba Hotel Association Member
  • Marina
  • Online Reservation Service
  • Picnic Area
  • Pool Available (may be outdoor)
  • Provincial Heritage Site
  • Public Golf Course
  • Showers
  • Some pets permitted (contact for more info)