Born in Power

April 20

  • Admission: $12 | WAG members FREE

Born In Power presents Indigenous and Black representation in photography, film, and text from a self-determined lens.


Born in Power considers the power of photography and film to capture and create constructs of identity. This exhibition unpacks the history of photography as a colonial tool, an imperial weapon of racial violence and objectification. Born in Power presents womxn and nonbinary/enby identities that embody representations of the self and community as acts of reclamation, and image sovereignty, to occupy space.


Enduring a collective history of resistance, intersectional oppression, discrimination, and objectification, the artists from Indigenous and Black identities use photography to defy stereotypes and Eurocentric standards. These artists define identity for themselves without the influence of societys expectations and imposition. Representations of intergenerational Indigenous and Afro/Black bodies are recast, re-scripted, challenged, and countered by self-determination and familial power.

Upcoming Dates:

  • Tuesday, April 20
  • Wednesday, April 21
  • Thursday, April 22
  • Friday, April 23
  • Saturday, April 24
  • Sunday, April 25
  • Monday, April 26
  • Tuesday, April 27
  • Wednesday, April 28
  • Thursday, April 29