Travel Manitoba Articles http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/ Recent Articles - Story Ideas Sun, 23 Nov 2014 00:52:05 GMT Finding the Balance in Brandon http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/finding-the-balance-in-brandon/748/ Named one of the top-six best places to live in Canada, Brandon boasts outdoor adventures, killer cuisine and some serious retail therapy Mon, 25 Jun 2012 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/finding-the-balance-in-brandon/748/ Hey Big Spenders! http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/hey-big-spenders-/765/ With the second coming of the Winnipeg Jets, there are few more folks in town with the means to do a little splurging. While Winnipeggers have always been known for their keen senses when hunting... Sun, 09 Oct 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/hey-big-spenders-/765/ Lights. Camera. Walk on to the set. http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/lights-camera-walk-on-to-the-set-/774/ Brad Pitt has been here. So have Richard Gere, Jennifer Lopez, Susan Sarandon and Philip Seymour Hoffman, just to name a few of the Hollywood A-listers who have been filmed on one of Canada’s... Mon, 27 Jun 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/lights-camera-walk-on-to-the-set-/774/ Whiteshell Provincial Park: 48 Hours http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/whiteshell-provincial-park-48-hours/776/ Got 48 hours? Spend it where the Canadian Shield gets showy in Manitoba. Hike, bike, fish, boat, eat and shop. Oh, and play a little mini golf. It’s all in Whiteshell Provincial Park. Wed, 15 Jun 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/whiteshell-provincial-park-48-hours/776/ Winnipeg’s Rock’n’ Roll Royalty Tour http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/winnipeg-s-rock-n-roll-royalty-tour/777/ The 60s were just the beginning. But it was a decade when Winnipeg’s rock’n'roll royalty ruled. See where it all began in Heartland International’s Magical Musical History Tour. Thu, 09 Jun 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/winnipeg-s-rock-n-roll-royalty-tour/777/ Festival Food Feasting http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/festival-food-feasting/778/ How to chow down as the action heats up at Manitoba’s festivals Tue, 31 May 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/festival-food-feasting/778/ Folk, ya! A Prairie Gathering Like No Other http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/folk-ya-a-prairie-gathering-like-no-other/779/ If music is a big deal in your house, naturally the Winnipeg Folk Festival should be considered a sacred annual event. This year, diehard folkies have five big X’s on the calendar reserving July 6-10. Fri, 27 May 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/folk-ya-a-prairie-gathering-like-no-other/779/ A Martini from the City that Spawned Bond http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/a-martini-from-the-city-that-spawned-bond/782/ Fact: James Bond is based on a real-life spy from Winnipeg named William Stephenson. Fact: Winnipeg is THE place for a fabulous martini. Wed, 25 May 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/a-martini-from-the-city-that-spawned-bond/782/ Artists Tour: Catching the WAVE in the Interlake http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/artists-tour-catching-the-wave-in-the-interlake/781/ A gorgeous drive in the country. A picnic lunch by the lake. A little bit of artistic inspiration. Catch the WAVE this summer in the Interlake. Wed, 25 May 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/artists-tour-catching-the-wave-in-the-interlake/781/ Pedal to Paddle in Manitoba’s Mountains http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/pedal-to-paddle-in-manitoba-s-mountains/780/ Come summer, this winter wonderland sheds the white blankets and offers greener pastures for playtime on a bike or boat. Wed, 25 May 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/pedal-to-paddle-in-manitoba-s-mountains/780/ Retail Therapy Out in the Country http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/retail-therapy-out-in-the-country/783/ Looking for a special gift? How about something just for you? Manitoba’s rural shopping stops have it all and charm to spare. Thu, 12 May 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/retail-therapy-out-in-the-country/783/ Winnipeg’s French Connection http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/winnipeg-s-french-connection/784/ Breathtaking architecture, culture galore and fabulous bistros say Bon Appetit in Winnipeg’s French Quarter. Sat, 09 Apr 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/winnipeg-s-french-connection/784/ Spring Time is Ice Cream Time http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/spring-time-is-ice-cream-time/785/ The battle rages. Shall we go east or south? Go east and we’ll arrive at the cleverly-hidden Sub Zero Ice Cream. A trip south will deliver us at iconic Bridge Drive-In. Really, it’s no battle at... Sun, 03 Apr 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/spring-time-is-ice-cream-time/785/ Snakes on a Plain: Narcisse in Spring http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/snakes-on-a-plain-narcisse-in-spring/786/ If you’re mildly curious about why this hamlet hosts the biggest convention of red-sided garters in the world, then head for the dens. Time to squirm! Wed, 23 Mar 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/snakes-on-a-plain-narcisse-in-spring/786/ Take a Hike! Prairie Pathfinders Make it Happen http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/take-a-hike-prairie-pathfinders-make-it-happen/787/ You don’t need quads of steel to hike with the Prairie Pathfinders. All you need is a sense of adventure and a willingness to stop and smell the wildflowers. Tue, 08 Mar 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/take-a-hike-prairie-pathfinders-make-it-happen/787/ Manitoba’s Unique Sport: Spongee http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/manitoba-s-unique-sport-spongee/788/ You see them on frosty weekday evenings and bright Sunday mornings, filing in to community clubs, sticks and jerseys in hand. But where are the skates? These players don’t need skates because they... Thu, 24 Feb 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/manitoba-s-unique-sport-spongee/788/ Get Your Architecture Fix—On Ice! http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/get-your-architecture-fix-on-ice-/789/ As if it’s not enough of a sensory delight to glide along one of Canada’s historic rivers on a starlit winter evening, the good folks at The Forks have added a few attractions along the way.. Sun, 20 Feb 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/get-your-architecture-fix-on-ice-/789/ Get to Know Louis Riel http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/get-to-know-louis-riel/790/ You’ve heard his name, but do you know the man behind the legend? To some, he was a hero. To others, a traitor. One thing is certain. He was never boring. Folks, meet Louis Riel. Fri, 11 Feb 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/get-to-know-louis-riel/790/ Music To Our Ears http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/music-to-our-ears/791/ Can New Music grow old? In Winnipeg it does. This year, The New Music Festival celebrates its silver anniversary. Mon, 31 Jan 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/music-to-our-ears/791/ Dine About Winnipeg: A Foodie’s Delight http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/dine-about-winnipeg-a-foodie-s-delight/792/ What has 60 appetizers, 61 entrées, 41 desserts, involves 26 local restaurants and stretches over 10 days? Foodies across the province are raising their hands, indicating that they know the answer. Thu, 27 Jan 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/dine-about-winnipeg-a-foodie-s-delight/792/ Festival Du Voyageur: Coming Soon to a Snowbank Near You! http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/festival-du-voyageur-coming-soon-to-a-snowbank-near-you-/793/ There’s little doubt that the memory of your 300 new best friends shouting Hey Ho inside a very warm tent on a frosty February night will soon fade from your mind. It’s also unlikely that you’ll... Sun, 16 Jan 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/festival-du-voyageur-coming-soon-to-a-snowbank-near-you-/793/ Sleeping Around in Manitoba http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/sleeping-around-in-manitoba/794/ Manitoba’s most memorable hotels, inns, and places to lay your head. Whether you seek sustainable sleep or northern lights out your window, these spots will have you sleeping like a baby. Wed, 12 Jan 2011 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/sleeping-around-in-manitoba/794/ Why Manitobans are Rock Stars (and we don’t mean the musical variety…) http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/why-manitobans-are-rock-stars-and-we-don-t-mean-the-musical-variety-/795/ When the temperature drops, Manitobans are more active than ever. Cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, hockey…but without a doubt, curling is the king of winter pastimes. Here are the top 5 reasons we.. Wed, 22 Dec 2010 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/why-manitobans-are-rock-stars-and-we-don-t-mean-the-musical-variety-/795/ Northern Manitoba Trappers’ Festival: Your Guide to Frosty Good Times http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/northern-manitoba-trappers-festival-your-guide-to-frosty-good-times/796/ It wouldn’t be fair to send you to the festival without a few pointers. Next time you visit The Pas, 650 km north of Winnipeg, remember to pack your fur hat and maybe a few antacids. If you’re... Mon, 13 Dec 2010 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/northern-manitoba-trappers-festival-your-guide-to-frosty-good-times/796/ Shopping in the Original Neighbourhood http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/shopping-in-the-original-neighbourhood/797/ Enjoy the magic of the North End in Winnipeg, where you can walk along Main Street, ducking into the shops that look promising and while you’re stomping off that snow, get a friendly greeting from... Sun, 05 Dec 2010 07:00:00 GMT http://www.travelmanitoba.com/articles/view/shopping-in-the-original-neighbourhood/797/